ME 225 / PHY 255:
Introduction to Fluid Dynamics

U of R shield Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Rochester
Fall 2018 | Douglas H. Kelley

Lectures 9:00-9:50 Monday, Wednesday, and Friday (Hutchison 140).
Recitation 14:00-15:15 Tuesday (Dewey 1101), beginning 11 September.
Required for ME majors. 4 credits, 5 contact hours. CRN 56855 (lecture) and 56861 (recitation).

Course Goals

This is a first course in fluid dynamics, considering phenomena relevant to fluids (liquid, gases, and plasmas), whether stagnant or flowing. In particular, we will consider fluid properties, fluid statics, kinematics of moving fluids, the Bernoulli equation and applications, control volume analysis, differential analysis of fluid flow, inviscid flow, plane potential flow, viscous flow, the Navier-Stokes equation, dimensional analysis, similitude, empirical analysis of pipe flows, flow over immersed bodies, boundary layers, lift, and drag. Successful students in this course will also gain an ability to identify, formulate, and solve complex engineering problems by applying principles of engineering, science, and mathematics (ABET Student Outcome 1).

Prerequisites

MTH 165, MTH 164, PHY 121, ME 120 , ME 123.

Materials

Assignments & Grading

All assignments and activities associated with this course must be performed in accordance with the University of Rochester's Academic Honesty Policy. In this course, students are allowed to collaborate on homework — provided that each collaborator takes the time to fully understand the material and write a separate copy of the assignment. On exams, no outside aids are permitted unless the instructor explicitly states otherwise. Students must write and sign the Honor Pledge on all exams: “I affirm that I will not give or receive any unauthorized help on this exam, and that all work will be my own.” Facilitating dishonesty is dishonesty. Procrastination is a major source of dishonesty, so start assignments early and keep yourself organized.

Reading Quizzes - 5%
Each Monday meeting will begin with a reading quiz consisting of three short questions taken directly from the text.
Homework - 20%
Homework is due at the start of class on dates listed below and will not be accepted late.
Midterm exams - 40%
Of three midterms, your lowest grade will be dropped. Midterms will take place 25 September, 23 October, and 4 December; all in Hoyt Auditorium, 6:30-8:30 pm.
Final exam - 35%
Cumulative. Thursday, 20 December, 08:30, Feldman Ballroom.
If you have a question about the grade you've received on an assignment, please speak first with the teaching assistant who graded it, as listed in the grading responsibilities.

Students with Disabilities

The University of Rochester respects and welcomes students of all backgrounds and abilities. In the event you encounter any barrier(s) to full participation in this course due to the impact of disability, please contact the Office of Disability Resources. The access coordinators in the Office of Disability Resources can meet with you to discuss the barriers you are experiencing and explain the eligibility process for establishing academic accommodations.

Feedback & Availability

I will distribute evaluations periodically to collect feedback. Announcements will occasionally be made by email. I typically check email frequently but cannot guarantee immediate response at all times. Quick questions can be effectively and efficiently addressed by email, but for in-depth questions a face-to-face discussion usually works better, so consider requesting a meeting. Or, when classes are in session, come to regular office hours with the professor or teaching assistants; times are listed below. Tau Beta Pi study sessions are also available, 7-8 pm on Tuesdays and Wednesdays in Genesee 321.

Douglas H. Kelley Sedigheh Sheykholeslami Victor Zhang Suman Kumar
Douglas H. Kelley Sedigheh Sheykholeslami Victor Zhang Suman Kumar
10-11 am Monday 3:30-4:30 pm Wednesday 10-11 am Friday 6:30-7:30 pm Tuesday
Hopeman 218 Carlson Library, 2nd floor Hopeman 403 iZone downstairs
d.h.kelley@rochester.edu Sedigheh.sh@rochester.edu vyzhang@rochester.edu skumar23@u.Rochester.edu
Jordy Mendez Ramon Nieves Obed Badillo Rebeca Toro Garza
Jordy Mendez Ramon Nieves Obed Badillo Moreno Rebeca Toro Garza
3:30-4:30 pm Tuesday 10:30-11:30 am Wednesday 12-1 pm Monday 5-6 pm Thursday
iZone downstairs Carlson Library main floor Carlson Library main floor ME TA lounge in Hopeman
jmendez6@u.Rochester.edu rnieves3@u.rochester.edu obadillo@u.Rochester.edu etorogar@u.Rochester.edu

Course Schedule

This schedule may evolve as the course progresses. Reading assignments specified as section numbers below come from the fifth edition of Munson's text. The first recitation will meet 11 September.

Date Topic Reading Due
Wednesday, 29 August Introduction, units of measurement, relevance of fluids, ideal gas law 1.1-1.5
Friday, 31 August Viscosity, stress and strain, Newtonian and non-Newtonian fluids 1.6-1.11
Monday, 3 September No class: Labor day.
Wednesday, 5 September Pressure, force multiplication, gravitational pressure head, measuring pressure 2.1-2.7 Reading Quiz 1
Friday, 7 September Pressure on vessel walls, center of force, center of pressure 2.8-2.10 Homework 1
Monday, 10 September Buoyant forces 2.11 Reading Quiz 2
Wednesday, 12 September Stability, pressure variation during rigid body motion 2.12-2.13
Friday, 14 September F=ma along streamlines, pressure head 3.1-3.2, 3.4 Homework 2
Monday, 17 September Bernoulli's equation, stagnation pressure, Pitot tubes 3.5-3.6 Reading Quiz 3
Wednesday, 19 September Flowmeters, F=ma across streamlines 3.3, 3.6
Friday, 21 September Energy line, hydraulic grade line, restrictions on Bernoulli 3.7-3.9 Homework 3
Monday, 24 September Velocity fields, Eulerian and Lagrangian methods 4.1 Reading Quiz 4
Tuesday, 25 September 18:30-20:30, Hoyt Auditorium Midterm 1
Wednesday, 26 September Streamlines, pathlines, and streaklines 4.1
Friday, 28 September Acceleration fields, material derivatives 4.2
Monday, 1 October Systems and control volumes, Reynolds transport theorem 4.3-4.5 Reading Quiz 5
Wednesday, 3 October Conservation of mass in control volumes 5.1 Homework 4
Friday, 5 October Conservation of momentum in control volumes 5.2
Monday, 8 October Conservation of angular momentum in control volumes 5.2 Reading Quiz 6
Wednesday, 10 October Conservation of energy in control volumes 5.3-5.4
Friday, 12 October Fluid elements, dilation, vorticity 6.1 Homework 5
Monday, 15 October No class: fall break.
Wednesday, 17 October Gradient, divergence, curl 6.1
Friday, 19 October Conservation of mass in differential form 6.2
Monday, 22 October Cylindrical polar coordinates, stream functions 6.2 Reading Quiz 7
Tuesday, 23 October 18:30-20:30, Hoyt Auditorium Midterm 2
Wednesday, 24 October Conservation of momentum in differential form for inviscid flow, the Bernoulli equation 6.3-6.4 Homework 6
Friday, 26 October Irrotational flow, velocity potentials, circulation 6.4-6.5
Monday, 29 October Superposition, flow around a cylinder, d'Almbert's paradox 6.6 Reading Quiz 8
Wednesday, 31 October Magnus effect, general-purpose superposition 6.6-6.7
Friday, 2 November Conservation of momentum in differential form for viscous flow, stress-deformation relationships 6.8 Homework 7
Monday, 5 November Poiseuille flow, Couette flow 6.9-6.11 Reading Quiz 9
Wednesday, 7 November Dimensional analysis, Buckingham Pi theorem, method of repeating variables 7.1-7.4
Friday, 9 November Common dimensionless groups, correlation with experiments 7.6-7.7 Homework 8
Monday, 12 November Modeling 7.8-7.10 Reading Quiz 10
Wednesday, 14 November Laminar pipe flow, the Hagen-Poiseuille law 6.9, 8.2
Friday, 16 November Turbulent pipe flow, fully developed flow, turbulent shear stress 8.1-8.3 Homework 9
Monday, 19 November No class.
Wednesday 21 November No class: Thanksgiving.
Monday, 26 November Dimensional analysis of pipe flow, relative roughness, friction factor, Darcy-Weisbach equation, Moody chart, Colebrook formula 8.4 Reading Quiz 11
Wednesday, 28 November Loss coefficients, pipe systems, Picard iteration 8.5
Friday, 30 November Flowrate measurement 8.6-8.7 Homework 10
Monday, 3 December Flow over immersed bodies, boundary layer characteristics and thickness 9.1-9.2 Reading Quiz 12
Tuesday, 4 December 18:30-20:30, Hoyt Auditorium Midterm 3
Wednesday, 5 December Boundary layer separation, friction drag, pressure drag 9.2-9.3
Friday, 7 December Wall shear stress, drag coefficients 9.3
Monday, 10 December Lift, circulation 9.4-9.5 Reading Quiz 13
Wednesday, 12 December Exam review Homework 11
Thursday, 20 December 08:30, Feldman Ballroom Final exam

Grading Responsibilities

Quizzes and homework are graded by the course teaching assistants, who rotate duties based on students' last names.

Assignment Last name begins
A - Br Bu - Da De - G H - Le Li - N O - To Tr - Z
Homework 1 Sedigheh Victor Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca
Homework 2 Victor Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh
Homework 3 Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor
Homework 4 Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor Suman
Homework 5 Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor Suman Jordy
Homework 6 Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor Suman Jordy Ramon
Homework 7 Rebeca Sedigheh Victor Suman Jordy Ramon Obed
Homework 8 Sedigheh Victor Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca
Homework 9 Victor Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh
Homework 10 Suman Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor
Homework 11 Jordy Ramon Obed Rebeca Sedigheh Victor Suman
Quiz 1 Sedigheh
Quiz 2 Victor
Quiz 3 Suman
Quiz 4 Jordy
Quiz 5 Ramon
Quiz 6 Obed
Quiz 7 Rebeca
Quiz 8 Sedigheh
Quiz 9 Victor
Quiz 10 Suman
Quiz 11 Jordy
Quiz 12 Ramon
Quiz 13 Obed